Waste and Recycling

Council provides an integrated waste management service to its residents. Service levels do differ dependent upon locality within the Shire. Information on services available and how to make use of these are provided below.


Young Shire Council administers 9 local disposal facilities. Some of these are licensed facilities by the NSW Environment Protection Authority, however all operate under guidelines issued under the Protection of the Environment Operations Act 1997 and Guidelines as issued by the EPA.

Council encourages all residents to reduce, reuse and recycle, and asks that residents follow signage and directions given to ensure that low cost waste services can continue to be offered to its residents.

Disposal Fees & Charges 2016/2017 Disposal Fees & Charges 2016/2017 (926 KB)

Victoria St Transfer Station and Material Recovery Facility
Victoria St, Young

Open: Monday to Saturday 8.30am-4.00pm
Sunday and Public Holidays 8.30am – 2.30pm

The Victoria St site accepts mixed solid waste, asbestos, whitegoods, tyres and greenwaste, as well as facilities for pre sorted recycling (including scrap metal, paper, plastics, glass, aluminium, e-waste, waste oils, and DrumMuster)

Redhill Rd Landfill Facility
Redhill Rd, Young

Open: Monday to Saturday 8.30am-2.30pm

The Redhill Rd site accepts inert and non organic materials only, including concrete and rubble, building materials, furniture, junk and materials.

Please see the Redhill Road Landfill Disposal Guide.

Village Landfill & Transfer Stations

Village landfill / transfer stations are accessible via key access to residents eligibly for the service. Village facilities are available for household waste and recycling only. All other waste materials must be disposed of at the appropriate facility in Young.

Village Facility Disposal Guide Village Facility Disposal Guide (659 KB)


Within the township of Young, kerbside services are offered for:            

  • Household Garbage (140L plain green bin – weekly),
  • Household Recycling (240 L yellow lid – weekly)
  • Household Green Waste (240L light green lid)

The following maps determine on what day your bins will be collected for each service. Council recommends placing the respective bins out the night before the service is to be provided.

Request forms for bins are on the Council Forms page

Resources and Fact Sheets

A-Z Recycling & Disposal Guide

What goes in the Recycling Bin

What goes in the Greenwaste Bin/ Handy Hints

Waste & Recycling Strategy 2012-2022

The Three Bin Service Fact Sheet


Council is part of two critical regional groups in a concerted effort on waste management and resource recovery.

South West Slopes Regional Waste Management Group

The first of these is the South West Slopes Regional Waste Management Group (SWRWMG) which is a collective of eight (8) local Council areas that have formed a cooperative for the disposal of putrescible waste at a regional landfill managed by Ecofil Pty Ltd in Jugiong.

The SWRWMG is administered by neighbouring Council, Harden Shire and more information about the group is available at SWRWMG Administration Details.

The SWRWMG has its own Waste Strategy aimed at the way the regional landfill facility and integrated transport system to it, are administered.

SWRWMG Waste Strategy SWRWMG Waste Strategy (551 KB)

South Eastern NSW Region of Councils

The other Group that Council is an active participant for actions and strategies, is the South East Region of NSW Councils (SEROC) special Committee of action – the South East Region Resource Recovery Group – SERRRG.

The SEROC-SERRRG cooperative is exploring resource recovery on a larger scale and secures programs and a knowledge base covering the Councils of the South Eastern sector of the state including Young through to Eurobodalla and Bega Valley Councils. Information and resources are available www.serrroc.nsw.gov.au

This page has a wealth of information and links on waste management and resource recovery, including the Regional Waste Strategy.